Take control of construction dust

Improve working comfort, safety and productivity with Hilti Dust Removal Systems (DRS)

WHY YOU SHOULD CARE ABOUT DUST

Everyday construction jobs – such as grinding, cutting, drilling, breaking and chasing – may create hazardous dust which can negatively impact health and safety but also jobsite productivity. In addition, construction dust does not just stay at the jobsite, but can spread to other areas impacting people, nature and the environment. Many of the harmful dust particles created are so tiny that they are barely visible, and the smaller they are the longer they take to settle. For example, a 0.1 micrometer dust particle can take more than 12 days to settle on the floor from a height of just one meter [1]. This is why on jobsites, even when we don’t see construction dust, we can still smell it – if you think a room smells “like concrete”, it's probably because of microscopic concrete dust particles circulating in the air.

COMPARE TWO WORK PLACES

Please enter Alternative Text here (optional)

Dust can pose a threat to Health and Safety

A shockingly high number of people die each year of lung cancer because of over-exposure to respirable silica dust. Others suffer from dust-related diseases so badly that they can no longer work. So, dust can have severe consequences to your workforce if not tackled head-on. Several national and international organizations have realized the urgency of the issues and launched initiatives and campaigns to combat dust at the workplace.

What are the consequences?

When the human body inhales dust, natural defense mechanisms kick in e.g. sneezing, coughing. But those human defense mechanisms are limited and for some kinds of dust ineffective. Special care must be taken when working with materials containing silica.

Silica is a natural material. About 27% of our earth crust is covered with it. It occurs in many materials common on constructions sites like sandstone, concrete, mortar, tile, brick and more.

When processing these materials, fine dust that contains respirable crystalline silica (RCS) occurs. Over-exposure to these RSC particles can be very dangerous because they reach deep into our lungs and settle in our lungs’ air sacks (alveoli). Over time scar tissue is produced and reduces the ability to breath-in oxygen. This incurable disease is called silicosis. 

HOW BREATHING IN SILICA DUST CAN CAUSE PERMANENT DAMAGE?

HOW BREATHING IN SILICA DUST CAN CAUSE PERMANENT DAMAGE

Dust not only affects the lungs – it can also lead to other issues like eye and skin irritation or allergic reactions. Most of these diseases will take a longer time to develop but with high exposure to dangerous dust it can also develop quite fast and can raise drastic problems like:

  • Reducing ability to work
  • Reducing quality of life
  • Permanently damaging health

DUST DECREASES PRODUCTIVITY AND INCREASES MAINTENANCE COSTS

Most people would prefer to work in a clean environment where body, clothes and surroundings stay clean and no personal protective equipment must be worn.

Working in clouds of dust also increase the risk of injuries due to reduced visibility and can distract employees because of eye irritations, sneezing, coughing or nose blowing. But that’s not the only reason to take control of dust. You can significantly increase productivity and lower maintenance costs with appropriate measures against dust by:

Reducing preparation time: no or minimal time sealing off the area required before work starts

Reducing cleaning: depending on the application you can save up to 99% of cleaning time

Reducing damage of fixtures and fittings: like carpets, furniture and other furnishings

Increasing lifetime of tools: by up to 60% and of inserts by up to 20%

Increasing application speed: up to 20% with cleaner and sharper tools

How do you measure dust on the jobsite?

We know why it makes sense to minimize dust exposure on jobsites. But what exposure limits should you be aiming to avoid?

In the UK, there are official guidelines on exposure limits which you need to be aware of. Firstly, the HSE’s Control of Substances Hazardous to Health (COSHH) regulations define Workplace Exposure Limits (WELs) for specific dusts. The WEL for respirable crystalline silica (RCS) dust is 0.1 mg per cubic meter averaged out over an 8-hour workday. Other respirable dusts are limited to 4 mg per cubic meter and other inhalable dusts to 10 mg per cubic meter, averaged out over the same time period [2]. The latter is roughly equivalent to only the weight of a 2 Euro Cent coin.

Similar standards are imposed across Europe, meaning that wherever you have jobsites within the EU you have the challenge of keeping your team’s dust exposure to low levels.

So how can you reduce construction dust inhalation? We recommend following the "STOP Principle", Which is Substitution, Technological, Organizational, and Personal Protection. 

Substitution: eliminate the risks of dust by using alternatives

Wet diamond drilling

Keep jobsites cleaner by collecting slurry created during wet diamond drilling. Units such as the DD-WMS water management system supply, filter and collect slurry for easy disposal.

DD-WMS 100 water management system

Direct fastening

Make the switch to the BX 3 battery-powered nailer, designed to be a cleaner, quieter and virtually dust-free alternative to drilling.

BX 3 battery-powered nailer

Technical: products to reduce dust inhalation

Hilti has decades of experience in preventing, managing and removing construction dust. At our Dust Research Center in Kaufering, Germany our Dust Experts are part of a community actively developing relevant standards like EN 50632.

Hilti power tools, accessories and inserts (such as drill bits, discs, blades or chisels), are designed as harmonized Dust Removal Systems (DRS) to maximize the amount of harmful dust removed at source and collect it efficiently with high-performance vacuum cleaners. 

Consequently, 95% of our power tools can contribute to virtually dust-free, and therefore, healthier jobsites.

Applications include:

Drilling

Remove up to 97% of dust with integrated dust removal systems like the TE-DRS, compatible with the TE 6-A22 cordless rotary hammer.

Similarly, the TE-YD hollow drill bit – when used with SDS combihammers such as the TE 50-AVR and VC 40-UL wet and dry vacuum cleaners – provides virtually dust-free concrete drilling.

TE-DRS dust removal system TE-YD hollow drill bit

Chiseling

Remove up to 95% of dust when chiseling with tools like the TE 2000-AVR concrete demolition hammer, combined with the TE DRS-B dust management and a universal vacuum cleaner like the VC 40-UL.

TE DRS-B dust removal system

Cutting

Virtually dust-free concrete cutting, when you combine Angle Grinders tools with cutting dusthood to a VC 40 vacuum cleaner

Angle Grinders Dust Removal system for Cutting and Slitting

Grinding

Virtually dust-free results: when you combine tools such as the DGH 130 concrete grinder with a VC 40-UL vacuum cleaner.

DGH 130 Concrete grinder Dust Removal system for Grinding

Vacuum cleaning

Hilti vacuum cleaners are powerful, highly efficient, and designed to withstand the harshest jobsite conditions.

In addition, automatic filter cleaning technology briefly reverses the flow of air inside the system every 15 seconds, to prevent dust build-up on the filter, and keep suction high.

VC Vacuum cleaners

CUSTOMER FEEDBACK

CUSTOMER FEEDBACK

Organizational: measures to reduce dust exposure

The third stage of the "STOP principle" is to find and put in place organizational measures that help minimize dust exposure.

One practical method is job rotation, switching teams between dusty tasks, and thereby reduce exposure times for each individual. Similarly, many in the construction industry have introduced the ‘Ban the Broom’ initiative, meaning construction dust is vacuumed rather than brushed into the air.

Personal protective equipment: where health risks remain

Lastly, if there is no way for tradespeople to remain below dust limit values, then it’s important to use relevant personal protective equipment (PPE). Dust masks, eye protection, disposable overalls and gloves are all essential kit, even when using virtually dust-free tools. In conditions where dust levels are unavoidably high, respirators may be necessary for maximum protection against dust inhalation.

粉塵不但降低工作效率,而且還增加維護成本

支持建築業健康與安全的解決方案

越來越多健康、安全及環境方面的專家正關注建築行業的粉塵

由於粉塵對健康與安全會產生潛在的危險後果,因此可導致嚴重的健康問題,並造成生產力及工作舒適度的損失。

Image alt text (optional)

粉塵與建設

粉塵因鑽孔、削鑿、鋸或研磨材料而產生。不過,在有風的環境中或在運輸中搬動佈有粉塵的材料或者攪拌粉狀材料時(如在製備水泥時),也會揚起粉塵。

處理的材料不同,會產生不同種類的粉塵。與建築業最相關的一種是:具結晶結構的粉塵:透過研磨處理像是砂岩、混凝土、砂漿或瓷磚等含矽材料而產生。這種粉塵含有可吸入的晶體二氧化矽(RCS)。

現在如果你把工地一天工作天所完成的所有工作加總起來-你的員工必須處理大量粉塵,對吧?

粉塵會對健康與安全構成威脅

由於過度暴露於可呼吸性二氧化矽粉塵,每年有大量的人死於肺癌。 其他人則因身患與粉塵相關的嚴重疾病而無法工作。 因此,倘若未及時處理,粉塵將對你的員工造成嚴重影響。 多個國家及國際組織已意識到此等問題的緊迫性,並推出各種方式及活動來消除工作場所的粉塵。

吸入粉塵的後果?

當人體吸入粉塵時,人體的自然防禦機制就會開始工作,如打噴嚏、咳嗽。 但這些防禦機制的能力有限,並且對於部分粉塵起不了作用。 在使用含二氧化矽的材料時,必須格外小心。

二氧化矽是一種天然材料。 地殼中二氧化矽的含量約為27%。 二氧化矽存在於建築工地上許多常見的材料中,例如砂岩、混凝土、砂漿、瓷磚、磚塊等。

在處理此等材料時,會出現細微粉塵,其中就含有可呼吸性結晶二氧化矽(RCS)。 人體過度暴露於RSC顆粒中可能會非常危險,因為它會深入我們的肺部並沉澱在肺部的氣袋(肺泡)中。 久而久之,將會產生疤痕組織,並降低吸入氧氣的能力。 這種疾病稱為矽肺病,目前無法治癒。 

粉塵不僅會影響肺部,亦會導致其他問題,例如刺激眼睛及皮膚或導致過敏反應。 大部分此類疾病的發病時間較長,但倘若過度暴露在危險粉塵中,發病時間亦可能很快,並可能引發嚴重的問題,例如:

  • 工作能力下降 
  • 生活品質降低
  • 永久損害健康 

粉塵會降低生產力及增加維護成本

大部分人希望在清潔的環境中工作,讓身體、衣服及周圍環境保持清潔,並且無需穿戴個人防護設備。 在粉塵飛揚的環境中工作,亦會因可見度降低而增加受傷的風險,並且可能因此眼睛受到刺激、打噴嚏、咳嗽或擤鼻涕而分散員工的注意力。 但這並非控制粉塵的唯一原因。 透過採取以下適當的除塵措施,可以顯著提高生產力及降低維護成本:

減少準備時間: 在開始工作之前,無需或只需花很少時間來密封工作區域

減少清潔工作: 根據不同的應用,最多可節省99%的清潔時間

降低固定裝置及配件的損壞: 如地毯、家俱及其他裝潢

延長工具的使用壽命: 最多增加60%,耗材最多可增加20%

提高作業速度:使用更清潔及更鋒利的工具最多可增加20%

如何測量工地現場的粉塵情況?

我們了解了降低工地現場粉塵暴露的意義。 但應避免出現哪些暴露極限?

英國有個關於暴露極限的官方指引,這也是你需要知道的。 首先,HSE的《危害健康物質控制》(COSHH)法規對特定粉塵定義了工作場所暴露極限(WEL)。 可呼吸性結晶二氧化矽(RCS)的工作場所暴露極限為每天8小時工作時間內平均每立方公尺0.1毫克。 在相同工作時間內,其他可呼吸性粉塵限制為平均每立方公尺4毫克,其他可吸入粉塵限制為每立方公尺10毫克[2]。 後者大約僅相當於歐元2分硬幣的重量。

歐洲各地亦採用類似標準,這意味著無論你的工地現場位於歐盟何處,均會面臨將團隊的粉塵暴露水準保持在低水準的挑戰。

那麼如何減少吸入建築粉塵? 我們建議遵循“STOP原則”,即替代(Substitution)、技術(Technological)、組織(Organizational)及個人保護(Personal Protection)。 

替代:透過使用替代品消除粉塵風險

Construction worker using a DD-WMS water management system to supply, filter and collect slurry from wet diamond drilling

濕式鑽石鑽孔

透過收集濕式鑽石鑽孔過程產生的泥漿,令工地現場更加清潔。 DD-WMS水循環系統等設備可提供、過濾及收集泥漿,更便於丟棄。

DD-WMS 100 水循環系統
BX 3 battery-powered nailer, a virtually dust-free alternative to drilling, being used to fasten on concrete

直接緊固

改用替代性BX 3電池驅動擊釘槍,實現更清潔、更安靜且幾乎無塵的鑽孔作業。

BX 3 電池驅動擊釘槍

技術:減少粉塵吸入的產品

喜利得在預防、管理及清除建築粉塵方面擁有數十年的經驗。 在我們位於德國考弗林的粉塵研究中心,我們的粉塵專家是積極制定相關標準(例如EN 50632)的組織的一員。

喜利得電動工具、配件及耗材(例如鑽頭、切片、鋸片或鑿子)均可搭配除塵系統(DRS),可最大程度地從源頭清除有害粉塵,並使用高性能的吸塵器有效收集粉塵。  因此,我們95%的電動工具可提供幾乎無塵的作業,從而讓工作場所更健康。

應用包括:

TE 6-A22 cordless rotary hammer being used with an integrated dust removal system

鑽孔

使用與TE 6-A22充電式電鎚鑽兼容的整合除塵系統(例如TE-DRS),可清除多達97%的粉塵。

同樣地,TE-YD空心鑽頭在與SDS組合電鎚鑽(例如TE 50-AVR及VC 40-UL濕式及乾式吸塵器)一起使用時,可提供幾乎無塵的混凝土鑽孔。

TE-DRS 除塵系統 TE-YD 空心鑽頭
TE 2000-AVR concrete demolition hammer being used with a dust removal system and vacuum cleaner for virtually dust-free chiseling / breaking

鑿削

使用喜利得 SDS Max (TE-Y) 及 TE-S 鑿破機進行混凝土鑿破的除塵系統

TE DRS-B 除塵系統
Dust extraction is easier than ever with the SC 70W-A22 connected to a universal vacuum cleaner

切割

將砂輪機套上切割集塵罩,搭配 VC 40 吸塵器,可實現幾乎無塵的混凝土切割。

砂輪機 切割及開縫的除塵系統
For virtually dust-free results combine tools like the DG 150 concrete grinder with a vacuum cleaner

研磨

幾乎無塵的效果: 將DGH 130混凝土研磨機與VC 40-UL吸塵器搭配使用。

DGH 130 混凝土研磨機 研磨除塵系統
Image of all the full portfolio of Hilti vacuum cleaners being used on the construction site

真空吸塵

喜利得吸塵器功能強大、高效、可承受最惡劣的工地現場條件。

此外,自動過濾器清潔技術每隔15秒就會短暫地讓系統內部的空氣流反向流動,以防止粉塵積聚在過濾器上並保持較高的吸力。

VC 系列吸塵器

計畫性減少粉塵暴露的措施

“STOP原則”第三階段是尋找並實施有助將粉塵暴露減到最少的計畫性措施。

一種實用的方法是輪換工作,讓多個團隊輪流參與多塵的任務,從而減少每個人的暴露時間。 同樣地,營建業很多組織亦推出了“禁掃帚”倡議,意味著建築粉塵將被吸走而不是掃到空氣中。

個人防護裝備:應對仍存在的健康風險

最後,倘若業界無法將粉塵維持在極限值以下,則應使用相關個人防護装備(PPE)。 防塵口罩、護目鏡、一次性工作服及手套均為必不可少裝備,即使使用幾乎無塵的工具亦是如此。 當不可避免的面對較高的粉塵含量時,可能需要使用呼吸器極力防止粉塵吸入。